you're reading...
TEam Member Spotlights

TEam Member Spotlight: Johnie Flores

What is your role on the TEam?

I’m an Instructional Coach with Teaching Excellence.

Where did you study? List all that apply.

I received my B.S. in Advertising from the University of Texas at Austin. I’ve also obtained a M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Houston.

Why are you passionate about education and teacher development?

I’m passionate about education and teacher development because I believe everyone should have access to a high quality education. The largest factor in a high quality education is through exceptional teachers.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you used in the classroom or that you frequently recommend to your teachers.

I am a big believer in workstations at any grade level. They allow for academic differentiation for all ability levels and encourage inquiry-based learning. Another benefit of workstations is that they allow for teachers to make stronger relationship connections with their students because of the amount of 1 on 1 time spent at the teacher station.

If you had to describe your work on the TEam in three words, what would they be?

Focused, Dedicated, Rigorous

What advice would you have for an educator that aspires to become an instructional leader?

I would tell an aspiring instructional leader to work hard, learn as much as you can about your passions, and be open to new ideas.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy eating, running, traveling, and spending time with my family.

Which TE-shirt is your favorite and why?

I have two favorites. The “I heart TE” is super cute and fits well but the “Stay humble. Stay hungry.” shirt is so comfortable. I can’t pick just one!


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

