you're reading...
TEam Member Spotlights

TEam Member Spotlight: Lisina Russo

What is your role on the TEam?

I’m an Instructional Coach.

Where did you study? List all that apply.

I studied Business Administration and Studio Art at The State University of New York (SUNY) at Geneseo.

Why are you passionate about education and teacher development?

I am passionate about education and teacher development, because I believe that all children deserve the opportunity to choose what they will do in their lifetime. Great teachers mean great education, and great education means great opportunities!

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you used in the classroom or that you frequently recommend to your teachers.

I believe very strongly in small group lessons. Small groups allow teachers to differentiate based on students’ levels and build strong, meaningful relationships (which would be my other strategy).

If you had to describe your work on the TEam in three words, what would they be?

Collaborative, Passionate, and Rewarding

What advice would you have for an educator that aspires to become an instructional leader?

Seek out and be open to feedback. Personal growth is important in any career, but especially in a field in which you have the opportunity to make such an impact. If you know someone does something well, observe them. If you’re struggling with something, ask for help. And use what you learn!

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

I love crafting and any kind of DIY project! I also enjoy reading, biking, and spending time with friends.

Which TE-shirt is your favorite and why?

I don’t own it, but I like the “I TE” shirt because I am a very proud New Yorker!


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

