you're reading...
TEam Member Spotlights

TEam Member Spotlight: Jaclyn McCormick

What is your role on the TEam?

Instructional Coach

Where did you study?

The University of Pittsburgh

Why are you passionate about education and teacher development?

I became passionate about education after working for two years in Baton Rouge, LA through Teach For America. There I saw firsthand students who received a second-rate education because of the community in which they lived. After finishing TFA I worked at KIPP: Tech Valley and realized the amazing impact a functioning school system has on its students and community. Every student deserves that opportunity and it all starts with talented, dedicated teachers.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you used in the classroom or that you frequently recommend to your teachers.

I was all about competition in my classroom. Whether it was team points, poster competitions, or just “let’s see who can finish this worksheet the fastest with all answers correct”, I always found success in motivating my students to be the best they could be with friendly classroom competitions. Hence, the intense Pittsburgh pride my homeroom at KIPP had, as evident in the picture above. Not to brag, but we won almost every homeroom challenge. J

If you had to describe your work on the TEam in three words, what would they be?

Challenging, inspiring, fun

What advice would you have for an educator that aspires to become an instructional leader?

Take everything that happens to you as a learning experience. Even though I struggled a lot in the classroom, especially during my first year, I learned so much and am able to use many of the solution I discovered to help others. Although it was really hard at the time, I wouldn’t change the experience I had because I was able to learn something from every challenge or struggle I faced.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

Running, being active, shopping, and eating out

Which TE-shirt is your favorite and why?

The “I heart TE” t-shirt. Even though it was created before I joined TE, I really wanted one. I won mine at TE trivia after Induction which makes it all the more special!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

TE on Facebook

