you're reading...
TEam Member Spotlights

TEam Member Spotlight: JoAnna Duncan

What is your role on the TEam?

I’m an Instructional Coach.

Where did you study? List all that apply.

I studied Public Relations and Education at the University of Florida, and I also studied Education at the University of St. Thomas.

Why are you passionate about education and teacher development?

I love inspiring teachers in the same way that I loved to inspire my students to help them realize their potential and all the greatness that they are capable of. I’m passionate about education, because it is so powerful and undoubtedly the great equalizer. Phenomenal teachers can provide phenomenal instruction that can open doors and set individuals on dramatically different paths than what was imagined for them given their background or economic status.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you used in the classroom or that you frequently recommend to your teachers.

I constantly pumped my kiddos up and invested them in our goals. I did my best to ensure that they knew every second of the instructional day was getting us closer to our achievement goals and ultimately moving them closer to college.

If you had to describe your work on the TEam in three words, what would they be?

Fulfilling, Important, Enlightening

What advice would you have for an educator that aspires to become an instructional leader?

I would say soak up as much knowledge as possible in your current role and really focus on perfecting your practice. Also, take time to build transformative relationships with students and families. This way, you will always be able to keep student achievement in the forefront on your mind and use that purpose to propel you forward in whatever work you engage.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

I’m easy to please- I enjoy working out, shopping and trying new tasty eateries with friends.

Which TE-shirt is your favorite and why?

I love the “Fierce” t-shirt, because it is a dramatic statement that generates questions from curious people. I then get the chance to share all about YES Prep and Teaching Excellence!


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

