you're reading...
TEam Member Spotlights

TEam Member Spotlight: Kaitlan Peterson

What is your role on the TEam?

Instructional Coach

Where did you study? List all that apply.

American University (B.A. in International Studies)

University of St. Thomas (Masters of Education)

Why are you passionate about education and teacher development?

I am passionate about education reform because I believe that every student deserves an engaging, challenging, and inspiring education. As a first year teacher I struggled to provide that to my students. Consequently, I want to ensure that all teachers, even first year teachers, are able to provide their students with an excellent education.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you used in the classroom or that you frequently recommend to your teachers.

In my classroom, I was all about checking for understanding. Whether it was a quick oral CFU during the introduction to new material, a “think-pair-share”, or a Do Now/Exit Ticket, I always wanted to know exactly what my students were thinking so that I could clarify any confusion and reinforce content. I also made it a habit to follow up my CFUs by asking “why” or “how do you know” to make sure my students really understood the content and push them to be able to justify their answers.

If you had to describe your work on the TEam in three words, what would they be?

Inspiring. Important. Exciting.

What advice would you have for an educator that aspires to become an instructional leader?

I would recommend that all educators continuously push themselves to improve their practice by observing other teachers, investigating best practices, strategies, and resources to find the ones that will work for them, and most importantly, taking the time to reflect on their own classroom.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

When I’m not working to close the achievement gap, I love playing soccer, running, eating good food, and hanging out with my new puppy.

Discussion

One thought on “TEam Member Spotlight: Kaitlan Peterson

  1. It’s exciting to have you on the TEam, Kaitlan!

    Posted by Calvin | July 10, 2013, 9:35 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

TE on Facebook

