you're reading...
TE Induction

Induction Day 1: StrengthFinders

Today we welcomed our first group of 205 teachers from YES Prep and KIPP Houston to our intensive thirteen-day, teacher-training Induction. These teachers will soon set off across thirteen YES Prep and twenty KIPP campuses all over the city of Houston to teach pre-K through 12th graders everything ranging from Art to Physics.

As an introduction, what better way is there to get to know future colleagues and teammates than to share personal leadership strengths? Prior to arriving at Induction teachers took the StrengthFinder 2.0 assessment; today, they took part in a session to discuss their own strengths and how they can implement those strengths in the classroom.

Read below to meet three of YES Prep’s newest teachers, their Top 5 Strengths, and what they learned about themselves today in Teaching Excellence’s StrengthsFinder session:


Christopher Scott, top strength: Achiever;
“I learned to spend more time focusing on my strengths rather than on repairing my weaknesses. In addition, I learned that everyone has a different combination of strengths and will always have something to contribute to a team.”


Jason Kirkwood, top strength: Learner;
“I found the session extremely helpful in that if was self-reflective and offered me a way of thinking about myself in a completely new way.”

Whitney McMillan, top strength: Communicator; “I learned how to take my strengths and translate them into specific action steps I can use to enhance classroom culture, improve relationships with individual students, and maintain my stamina as a teacher.”

Interested in learning more about StrengthFinders and how you can use it to improve your classroom and leadership skills? Check out The #1 Wall Street Journal and #1 BusinessWeek bestseller that introduced the StrengthsFinder 2.0 assessment and Strength Based Leadership (http://www.strengthsfinder.com/home.aspx).

Share your top 5 strengths and what you learned about yourself through StrenghFinders in the comment section below.

Discussion

One thought on “Induction Day 1: StrengthFinders

  1. I learned in this session that my top strength is Futuristic and that is that I like to plan things out well. All time ago that but what I need to be more specific and focus on my weak points such as I spend a lot of time trying to better many things and completing only half of them. Thank you for help me to discover new things about myself that I did not know. =0)

    Posted by Karina Quezada | July 12, 2013, 12:47 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

TE on Facebook

