you're reading...
TEam Member Spotlights

TEam Member Spotlight: Stephanie King

What is your role on the TEam?

I am so excited to start working with TE as an Instructional Coach.

Where did you study? List all that apply.

I attended Texas A&M University. Whoop!!

Why are you passionate about education and teacher development?

My passion for educational equity led me to teach 8th grade social studies at YES Prep Brays Oaks where I went through Teaching Excellence. My experience as a New Teacher in the Teaching Excellence program made a huge impact on me! I had such strong and individualized support from my Instructional Coach. I truly saw how my growth as a teacher led to results for my students and that was exciting! I am passionate about teacher development because I have seen that it leads to student achievement!

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you used in the classroom or that you frequently recommend to your teachers.

I frequently recommend that teachers plan their lessons so that students are practicing the majority of the time! As a teacher, I found that the more practice time I was able to incorporate into my class, the more successful my students were. When I spent a lot of time in my Introduction to New Material, I would always go home with a hoarse voice and I knew I had spent too much time talking that day and my students did not get enough time to practice. To hold myself accountable, I started timing the amount of practice time my students were getting each day.

If you had to describe your work on the TEam in three words, what would they be?

Collaborative, Fun, Family!

What advice would you have for an educator that aspires to become an instructional leader?

Find an instructional leader on your campus and ask them for feedback on everything! Also, find someone on your campus that you can mentor and find ways to provide relevant support to them.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy being outside, reading, and trying new restaurants and coffee shops with friends.

Which TE-shirt is your favorite and why?

“Start Strong. Finish Stronger”- It really highlights the growth mindset that we have at TE and reminds me to continue to seek out feedback and get better!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

