you're reading...
TE Induction

Induction Day 8: Alternative Certification


Teaching Excellence has been certifying teachers since 2010, when it officially became an alternative certification program (ACP). Originally started as a support program for new teachers at YES Prep, Teaching Excellence has expanded to train and certify teachers at partnership schools across Houston. The certification pathway started as a way to simplify the process for teachers, allowing them to complete alternative certification requirements while teaching their first year in the classroom. Read below to learn five fun facts about the ACP pathway at Teaching Excellence.

1. In the majority of ACPs, teachers only get observed in their classrooms three times a year with very little feedback. Through Teaching Excellence,
teachers get observed every 1.5-2 weeks and receive ongoing feedback and support from both their instructional coaches and their campus administrators.

 

2. Other ACP field-based supervisors might manage hundreds of teachers each. Our field-based supervisors, called instructional coaches, have an average cohort of 15 teachers, allowing for focused and individualized support.

 

3. Teaching Excellence offers ongoing professional development throughout the school year, based on teachers’ needs. TE Induction also counts toward required hours for certification. By the end of the year, new teachers have participated in over 300 hours of professional development.

 

4. Through Teaching Excellence, YES Prep became the first charter school in Texas to offer a certification pathway.

 

5. Of teachers who were certified by Teaching Excellence last year, 97 percent agreed or strongly agreed that Teaching Excellence is a quality teacher-development program.


Discussion

3 thoughts on “Induction Day 8: Alternative Certification

  1. The first time I read about Teaching Excellence, I thought it was awesome. I wanted to be a teacher but I did not know how to get my teaching certificate. I looked around for possible ways to get certified. When I looked at YES Preps website, their mission, and TE, I knew I had to apply and work at YES. Now after going through Induction, I have confidence as a teacher to being my first year teaching. It was also very engaging and insightful especially the BMC.

    Posted by Van Ho | July 23, 2013, 7:45 pm
  2. I have been in diferntes programs, but I did not like they do not meet the expectations that I was looking for my certification. Last year I learned the TE program and what they offered on my campus. At that time I asked my school coach if I could get in, because I had heard very good things TE program. failed that year until finally in May I got the good news that I had been accepted into the program and that would start in July. The truth for me has been a great experience being able to share this time with teachers who are prepared, entuciastas, and always willing to help. Thank you very much to the whole group of Teach Excellence program for all the valuable time spent in training good teachers.

    two clap and one slap for the TEAM TEAM in two
    One, two.
    clap, clap. click, click.

    Posted by Karina Quezada | July 25, 2013, 12:36 am
  3. Im soo excited about being apart of TE. Before getting hired by YES Prep, I searched for ACP programs. I dont have anything to compare TE with but, I have the most confidence to say this is the BEST ACP to be apart. I’ve met so many motivated teachers ready to begin the year. I love the high expectations that are set for us as teachers and our students. I cant wait for AUGUST 8th!!!

    Posted by Ja'Niqua Kendrix | July 25, 2013, 7:35 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

