you're reading...
Teacher Spotlights, TEam

Teacher Spotlight – Molly Frye

I’m Karin, and I’m excited to introduce you to one of the teachers I work with, Molly Frye. Molly’s biggest strengths lie in student behavior and teamwork, especially the way that she has incorporated whole brain strategies (movement and chants) to meet the needs of her students. She has also set up effective tracking systems for her students, and as a result, all of her second graders can articulate their goals. Read below to learn more about the great things going on in Molly’s classroom.

What organization do you work for?

I work for KIPP Legacy Preparatory, an elementary school that serves Pre-K3 through 3rd grade students in the North Forest community in Northeast Houston.

What grade-level and subject do you teach?

I am a self-contained second grade teacher.

Where did you attend college and what was your major? List all that apply.

I graduated from the University of Texas with a degree in Communication.

What attracted you to teaching?

Many of my teachers had such a profound, positive impact on my life and were invested in my success both inside and outside of the classroom. I wanted the chance to be a positive influence on the lives of my own students.

What is the best part of teaching? What is the most difficult part of teaching?

The best part of teaching is getting to know my students. I absolutely adore each and every one of my 24 kids and feel blessed to get to spend so much time with them every day. I have loved watching each of them in their proudest moments when they master something new.

The most challenging aspect of teaching is learning the art of teaching as I go. As first year teachers, we are not only teaching our students but learning ourselves how to manage the classroom, plan lessons, make data-driven decisions, and more. It’s challenging to stay balanced while managing so many new and unfamiliar tasks.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you use in the classroom. How does this impact your students’ achievement?

One teaching strategy that I have enjoyed using with my second graders is the use of movement for learning content. While learning new content, I have taught my children hand movements and motions to help them remember new content. It has been so beneficial for my students across subjects, whether they’re learning new vocabulary words and practicing steps of their math problems.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

When I am not teaching, I enjoy spending time with my friends and family, getting to know the city of Houston, and catching up on sleep!

What three words would you use to describe the experience of participating in Teaching Excellence?

Productive. Insightful. Appreciated.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

