you're reading...
TEam

Teacher Spotlight – Hannah Jarmolowski

Hannah Jarmolowski PhotoIt is with great pleasure that I introduce a wonderful teacher with whom I work. Hannah excels at differentiating in her class by grouping students by their reading level to provide targeted questions. Check out her interview below to learn more about the great things Hannah is doing in her classroom. –Michael Warburton

What organization do you work for?

 I work at YES Prep East End.

What grade-level and subject do you teach?

I teach 7th grade reading.

Where did you attend college and what was your major? List all that apply.

I graduated from Vanderbilt University (Go ‘Dores!) and majored in public policy studies with an education policy track. I also minored in classics.

What attracted you to teaching?

I was attracted to teaching from a social justice perspective. I believe that everyone deserves an excellent education and an opportunity to become their best selves. Knowing that so many kids are denied this due to socioeconomic status or race, I had to be part of a solution.

What is the best part of teaching? What is the most difficult part of teaching?

The best part of teaching is when a student points out something about a text that I missed, or when a struggling student dazzles me with a brilliant answer.

The most difficult part of teaching is not having enough hours in the day to do all I want to do both inside and outside the classroom.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you use in the classroom. How does this impact your students’ achievement?

Differentiation has worked really well in my classroom. In addition to our anchor text, we also have differentiated guided reading groups. Students are split up into five homogenous groups by reading level, and they get to practice the day’s objective in a text on their level. I love this because it allows me to meet kids where they are, and it enables my struggling readers to feel successful while still challenging more advanced readers.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

When I’m not prepping for school, you can find me spending time with friends, binge-watching Netflix, drawing, building my Pinterest boards, working out at Pure Barre, and reading YA fiction.

What three words would you use to describe the experience of participating in Teaching Excellence?

Challenging, eye-opening, impactful.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

TE on Facebook

