you're reading...
TEam

Teacher Spotlight – Meghan Muir

I’m Rebecca Easterby, and I’m excited to introduce you to one of the teachers I work with, Meghan Muir. Read below to learn more about the great things going on in Meghan’s classroom.

What organization do you work for?

YES Prep North Central

What grade-level and subject do you teach?

6th and 7th grade Seminar

7th grade Math Lab

Where did you attend college and what was your major? List all that apply.

I attended The University of Texas at Austin. I majored in government and minored in women and gender studies.

What attracted you to teaching?

In college I studied poverty, privilege (or the lack thereof), inequality, and the effect that all of these things had on people, young and old. I was used to sitting in a classroom and discussing how terrible some of these injustices were in our world today. Teaching seemed liked the most tangible way to go from studying these injustices to actually doing something about it. Mandela said that “Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” I believe empowering our youth through a quality education gives our students the weapons and tools to do just that.

What is the best part of teaching? What is the most difficult part of teaching?

I believe the best part of teaching is getting to know my students. I value the times when I get to have 1 on 1 conversations or I am able to see them outside of the classroom. Our students are such interesting little humans and they have wonderful stories.

The hardest part about teaching is that your job doesn’t end at 5 PM. I’m not even talking about the countless hours spent at volleyball practice, prepping for each class, and going to meetings. I’m talking about the fact that when you leave this school you’re still a teacher. The conversations I had with students (positive and not-so-positive) never leave my mind. I think about school when I’m at home, when I’m eating, when I’m sleeping, when I’m trying to relax. I’ve been told that this part gets easier with time, so here’s to our second year of teaching!

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you use in the classroom. How does this impact your students’ achievement?

A successful teaching strategy that I use in my classroom is positive narration/framing. I find that it’s the easiest way to get students to refocus without having to be negative.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

When I’m not working I enjoy relaxing, reading dystopian novels, watching trash television, running, and spending time with family and friends!

What three words would you use to describe the experience of participating in Teaching Excellence?

Supportive, positive, and reassuring.


Discussion

One thought on “Teacher Spotlight – Meghan Muir

  1. Meghan Muir is a first year teacher’s dream as a classroom roommate. I love sharing a classroom with her and getting to learn from her passion and dedication to her students!

    Posted by Natalie Pilcher | April 7, 2014, 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

