you're reading...
TEam

Teacher Spotlight – Ja’Niqua Kendrix

I’m Patty Williams, and I’m excited to introduce you to one of the teachers I work with, Ja’Niqua Kendrix. Ja’Niqua shows real strengths in Routines and Procedures. Students lead the first seven minutes of her class. Read below to learn more about the great things going on in Ja’Niqua’s classroom.

What organization do you work for?

I work for YES Prep Northside Campus.

What grade-level and subject do you teach?

I teach 6TH and 7TH grade P.E.

Where did you attend college and what was your major? List all that apply.

I attended McNeese State University, where I received a Bachelor’s of Science in Health Promotion.

What attracted you to teaching?

I am attracted to teaching foremost because I love to help others. I love that I have the ability to give back to those that strive to pursue a successful academic and athletic career. And I also have a passion for sports, health and fitness.

What is the best part of teaching? What is the most difficult part of teaching?

The best part of teaching is knowing that you were once their age and eager to learn new things. Seeing the smiles of surprise on their face as they define themselves and do things physically that they never knew they were capable of doing is awesome. The most difficult part of teaching is trying to figure out the best and most productive way to motivate those that have not one ounce of interest to be physically active.

Describe a successful teaching strategy that you use in the classroom. How does this impact your students’ achievement?

The most successful teaching strategy that I use in my class is routines and procedures. Because the students buy in to the routines and procedures, each student makes it hard for another student not to be successful. Without consciously knowing, the students are each other’s accountability partners. They do not let each other get away with doing the wrong thing.

When you are not working on closing the achievement gap, what do you enjoy doing?

Outside of school I enjoy playing basketball, working out, and spending time with my family and dogs.

What three words would you use to describe the experience of participating in Teaching Excellence?

If I had to choose three words to describe TE they would be: Motivating, Helpful, and Successful.

 


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Twitter

